Resources

Pregnancy
  1. Genetics Screening https://prenatalscreeningontario.ca/for-parents/what-is-prenatal-screening/
  2. Free Online Prenatal Class
    1. i) Part 1: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=j7YucfJuziU
    2. ii) Part 2: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DVOP-ob4ZXA
    3. iii) Part 3: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MidVzEeTmc0
  3. Omama http://www.omama.com/en/index.asp
  4. Pregnancy and Breastfeeding Pocket Guide https://www.chusj.org/CORPO/files/46/46cf2737-6ad9-40a2-959c-cfeb86da187b.pdf
  5. SOGC (Society of Obstetricians and Gynecologists) https://www.pregnancyinfo.ca
  6. Indigenous Prenatal Health https://resources.beststart.org/product-category/resources/indigenous-prenatal-health/
  7. Indigenous Child Development https://resources.beststart.org/product-category/resources/indigenous-child-development/
  8. Best Start http://en.beststart.org
  9. Prenatal Education http://www.ontarioprenataleducation.ca
  10. LGBTQ Resouces https://lgbtqpn.ca
  11. Motherisk http://www.motherisk.org
  12. Employement Standards Act https://www.ontario.ca/document/your-guide-employment-standards-act-0
  13. Evidence Based Birth https://evidencebasedbirth.com
  14. SOGC Nausea and Vomiting http://pregnancy.sogc.org/wp-content/uploads/2014/05/PDF_nauseaandvomitinginpregnancy_ENG.pdf
  15. Healthy Babies Healthy Children https://www.healthunit.com/healthy-babies-healthy-children
  16. Pregnancy Beyond 40 https://www.ontariomidwives.ca/sites/default/files/2017-10/In-due-time-pregnancy-beyond-40-English.pdf
  17. Iron Deficiency Anemia https://www.ontariomidwives.ca/sites/default/files/2017-09/Iron%20deficiency%20anemia-KT.pdf
  18. Thinking About VBAC https://www.ontariomidwives.ca/sites/default/files/2017-06/Thinking-about-VBAC-English.pdf
  19. What are Hypertensive Disorders of Pregnancy https://www.ontariomidwives.ca/sites/default/files/2017-08/Hypertensive-disorders-of-pregnancy-English.pdf
  20. When Your Pregnancy Goes Past Your Due Date https://www.ontariomidwives.ca/sites/default/files/2017-07/Postdates-pregnancy-English.pdf
  21. Postdates – Visual Tools http://www.amandamontanez.com/postdates_basics.html
  22. Gestational Diabetes https://www.diabetes.ca/en-CA/recently-diagnosed/gestational-diabetes-toolkit
  23. Gestational Diabetes – Visual Tool http://www.amandamontanez.com/GDM_basics.html
  24. SOGC Group B Streptococcus (GBS) https://www.pregnancyinfo.ca/wp-content/uploads/2017/04/Group-B-Streptococcus-Infection-During-Pregnancy-.pdf
  25. GBS Visual Tools – http://www.amandamontanez.com/GBS_basics.html
  26. International Childbirth Education Association https://icea.org
  27. Health Care Connect – For finding a family Doctor https://hcc3.hcc.moh.gov.on.ca/HCCWeb/faces/layoutHCCSplash.jsp
  28. The Sensible Guide to a Healthy Pregnancy https://www.canada.ca/en/public-health/services/health-promotion/healthy-pregnancy/healthy-pregnancy-guide.html#a1
  29. Safe Food Handling in Pregnancy https://www.canada.ca/en/health-canada/services/food-safety-vulnerable-populations/food-safety-pregnant-women.html
  30. Smoking and Pregnancy https://www.canada.ca/en/health-canada/services/health-concerns/tobacco/smoking-your-body/pregnancy.html
  31. Canada’s Food Guide https://food-guide.canada.ca/en/
  32. Prenatal Nutrition https://www.canada.ca/en/health-canada/services/canada-food-guide/resources/prenatal-nutrition.html
  33. Pregnancy Weight Gain Calculator http://health.canada.ca/en/health-canada/services/food-nutrition/healthy-eating/prenatal-nutrition/pregnancy-weight-gain-calculator.html
  34. Immunizations in Pregnancy and Breastfeeding https://www.canada.ca/en/public-health/services/publications/healthy-living/canadian-immunization-guide-part-3-vaccination-specific-populations/page-4-immunization-pregnancy-breastfeeding.html
  35. Folic Acid and Neural Tube Defects https://www.canada.ca/en/public-health/services/pregnancy/folic-acid.html
  36. Alcohol and Pregnancy – SOGC http://pregnancy.sogc.org/wp-content/uploads/2014/05/PDF_alcoholandpregnancy_ENG.pdf
  37. Sex and U – SOGC https://www.sexandu.ca
  38. Uninsured Clients – AOM https://www.ontariomidwives.ca/sites/default/files/Handout%20for%20Uninsured%20Clients.pdf
  39. Breech Childbirth – SOGC http://pregnancy.sogc.org/wp-content/uploads/2014/05/PDF_breechchildbirth_ENG.pdf
  40. Spinning Babies – The Three Sisters of Balance https://spinningbabies.com/learn-more/techniques/the-three-sisters/
  41. Spinning Babies – Daily Essentials https://spinningbabies.com/start/in-pregnancy/daily-activities/
  42. Waiting for a Baby – Pregnancy After 35 Booklet https://www.beststart.org/resources/rep_health/pdf/pregnancy35plus_12pg_book.pdf
  43. Choice of Birthplace – AOM https://www.ontariomidwives.ca/sites/default/files/CPG%20supplemental%20resources/Choice-of-birthplace-pictograms-nullip-web-Engish.pdf
  44. Mental Health https://www.ontarioprenataleducation.ca/mental-health/
  45. Pregnancy after loss support https://pregnancyafterlosssupport.com
Labour and Birth
  1. The Miles Circuit – Fetal positioning starting at 37 weeks daily and for labour http://www.milescircuit.com/the-circuit.html
  2. Herbs for Labour – https://avivaromm.com/herbs-easier-labor/
  3. Perineal Massage – Start at 34 weeks https://www.ouh.nhs.uk/patient-guide/leaflets/files/10938Pmassage.pdf
Postpartum
  1. Pelvic Floor Physiotherapy – http://pelvichealthsolutions.ca/for-the-patient/
  2. Life After Postpartum Hemorrhage https://www.ontariomidwives.ca/sites/default/files/CPG%20client%20resources/Life-after-PPH-English.pdf
  3. Mothers Matter – 8 week online support group for mothers having difficulty with adapting to life with a newborn https://www.womenscollegehospital.ca/programs-and-services/mental-health/Mother-Matters
  4. Pacific Postpartum Support Society – online resource for those struggling with postpartum depression and anxiety https://www.womenscollegehospital.ca/programs-and-services/mental-health/Mother-Matters
  5. Pregnancy and Infant Loss Network https://pailnetwork.sunnybrook.ca
Newborn
  1. Caring for Kids – Canadian Pediatrics Society https://www.caringforkids.cps.ca
  2. Car Seat Installation http://www.mto.gov.on.ca/english/safety/install-child-car-seat.shtml
  3. Car Seat Safety https://www.caringforkids.cps.ca/handouts/car_seat_safety
  4. Car Seat Safety and Naps https://www.scarymommy.com/car-seat-sleep-deaths/
  5. Newborn Registration https://www.orgforms.gov.on.ca/IBR/scr03_Instructions.do
  6. Newborn Care http://www.ontarioprenataleducation.ca/wp-content/uploads/2016/02/Newborn-Care.pdf
  7. Newborn Safety http://www.ontarioprenataleducation.ca/wp-content/uploads/2018/01/Newborn-Safety.pdf
  8. Cord Blood Banking https://www.canada.ca/en/health-canada/services/healthy-living/healthy-pregnancy/banking-cord-blood.html
  9. Normal Newborn Behavior https://www.ontariomidwives.ca/sites/default/files/2017-06/Normal-newborn-behaviour-English.pdf
  10. Sleep Well, Sleep Safe Booklet https://resources.beststart.org/wp-content/uploads/2019/01/K49-E.pdf
  11. Safe Sleep https://www1.nyc.gov/assets/acs/pdf/about/2017/safesleepbrochure0609.pdf
  12. What do Expect – First Three Months https://resources.beststart.org/wp-content/uploads/2019/01/K82-E.pdf
  13. The Period Of Purple Crying http://www.purplecrying.info
  14. Vitamin D https://www.caringforkids.cps.ca/handouts/vitamin_d
  15. CPS Position Statement on Circumcision https://www.cps.ca/en/documents/position/circumcision
  16. Circumcision Info Sheet https://www.caringforkids.cps.ca/handouts/circumcision
  17. Jaundice in Newborns https://www.caringforkids.cps.ca/handouts/jaundice_in_newborns
  18. Infant Hearing Program http://infanthearingprogram.com
  19. Newborn Screening Ontario https://www.newbornscreening.on.ca/en
Infant Feeding
  1. Dr Jack Newman (Breastfeeding Inc) – Breastfeeding Info Sheets https://www.breastfeedinginc.ca/infocat/english/
  2. Techniques for Latching Baby to the Breast https://www.breastfeedinginc.ca/informations/when-latching/
  3. Dr Jack Newman – Videos Resources https://www.breastfeedinginc.ca/vdeoscat/english/
  4. La Leche League – Breastfeeding Resources https://www.lllc.ca/get-help/information-sheets
  5. INFACT Breastfeeding Fact Sheets – information for the rights of a breastfeeding mother http://infactcanada.ca/FactSheets.htm
  6. Ontario Human Rights Commission – Know your rights when pregnancy and breastfeeding http://www.ohrc.on.ca/en/pregnancy-and-breastfeeding-brochure
  7. Breastfeeding Matters – Best Start Booklet https://resources.beststart.org/wp-content/uploads/2017/01/B04-E.pdf
  8. Breastfeeding Your Late Preterm Infant https://resources.beststart.org/wp-content/uploads/2018/12/B26-E.pdf
  9. Breastfeeding and Returning to Work or School https://www.york.ca/wps/wcm/connect/yorkpublic/06ecbf64-3dc6-43b6-8da2-0c09539f099e/Breastfeeding_Work-School+Fact+Sheet.pdf?MOD=AJPERES&CACHEID=06ecbf64-3dc6-43b6-8da2-0c09539f099e
  10. Infant Formula – What you need to know https://resources.beststart.org/wp-content/uploads/2018/12/B19-E.pdf
  11. Guide to Bottle Feeding https://www.unicef.org.uk/babyfriendly/wp-content/uploads/sites/2/2008/02/start4life_guide_to_bottle_-feeding.pdf
Groups and Programs